ARC Review: Midnight Lies

Midnight Lies

Author: Ella Grace
Publisher: Random House/Ballantine
Date of Publication: September 24, 2013
Description:

LiesThe Wilde sisters of Midnight return in this thrilling novel of romantic suspense, perfect for fans of Maya Banks, Allison Brennan, and Lori Foster.

IT’S ALWAYS HOTTER AT MIDNIGHT.

The winds of fate have blown cruelly on a family that once had it all: money, power, prestige. The lives of three beautiful daughters were forever changed when, on a sultry night in Midnight, Alabama, a murder-suicide shattered the Wilde family. The girls grew up to live separate lives but now have returned home, each to face a danger no one can see coming.

Former homecoming queen Samantha surprised everyone by going into law enforcement, but beneath her tough façade lies a wary heart. The tragedy that struck her family is an ever-present reminder that nothing is ever as it seems. When the man she loves, Quinn Braddock, a doctor and Iraq war veteran, is accused of murder, Samantha assumes the worst. Brokenhearted, her confidence shattered, she returns to Midnight. Though exonerated, Quinn still feels the sting of Samantha’s doubt, but he can’t forget his feelings for her and follows her. Soon after his arrival, a shocking murder terrifies the town, and once again, Quinn is under suspicion. This time, Samantha will not turn her back on the man she loves—even if it means walking into a killer’s trap.

My Thoughts:

I’ll be honest, this isn’t going to be a long review. I’m way behind and trying to get caught up.

I’ve never read a book by Ella Grace before and apparently I’ve been missing out, because this was a great book. You can tell it’s part of a series because of how certain events are referenced (specifically the issue of discovering the truth about the death of her parents and her sister Bri’s trip – you can tell there’s a much bigger story than what little’s presented in this book). However, it doesn’t remotely take away from this book.

Sam is tough and strong. She’s got some understandable fears about relationships, given what happened with her parents and that leads to an unhappy, brief suspicion when her lover, Quinn, is accused of murder. This breaks the couple up and sends her back to Midnight. It takes many months before he realizes the truth, but then tracks her down to try to fix things even though he very much doesn’t believe in getting married again and Sam does.

Quinn is a strong man, smart and awesome. He had a massively bitchy first wife and while I won’t say she deserved to be murdered, she definitely deserved some bad stuff happening to her. I’m glad he allowed himself to fall in love and move past that first marriage.

Ms. Grace brought an unusual twist to the book. Once a particular event happened, it suddenly clicked who was behind the murders. It seemed a little obvious, though for most of the book it wasn’t. Maybe it’s just how I think, but things just fell into place for me about a third of the book before the villain was revealed. Nothing in particular happened, just a character said the right thing and boom, I knew the villain. I didn’t expect Quinn’s particular family issues to end up the way they did, but he definitely deserved a better family than he got.

I’m glad to read this and look forward to reading the third book (buying the first one eventually) when it comes out.

Thank you Ms. Grace for a great book and a great read!

Book provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s